My Thyroid Journey

Evidently there is no one qualified to administer Armour Thyroid to me on Oregon Medicare. I have been doctor-hopping, but still on the Levothyroxine and tired as hell. If I wasn’t on an anti-depressant, I probably would kill myself because I feel so terrible.

The most recent leg of My Thyroid Journey has been the challenge to change medication. That’s all. I want to try Natural Desiccated Thyroid because I am over-the-moon-tired. My blood tests are “normal range” and yet I don’t feel well. The excuse for that is Fibromyalgia, but what if it’s not? What if a simple change in medicine would help me? What if NDT would restore my energy levels?

Of course I have been reading about blood tests and t-this and t-that, but my nurse/practitioner does not want to hear me, even though she says, “I hear you,” she says it for effect, not for real. I know this because we have no dialogue. She gets her results but I don’t get mine.

So I continue to take an antidepressant @ $272 per month, which I may not need if I change to NDT. But we will never know if she won’t play along. Is it possible that she does not know enough about this problem to deal with it accordingly? If that were true would she tell me about her lack of expertise in the area? It would be unethical for me to answer for another person. The question is enough of an indictment, if you get my meaning.

One thought on “My Thyroid Journey

  1. Have found most medical personnel to be stupid on the topic. Not even understanding the negative feedback loop. Not accounting for irradiated thyroid tissue. Idiots. You can get the Armour through a naturopath or some chiros will also perscribe.

Leave a Reply

